Early Years

The children at Little Otters and in our Reception class follow the Early Years Foundation Stage Curriculum. They learn through first hand, purposeful, play based activities designed to foster a love of learning from the start. Learning is divided into seven key areas:

  1. Communication and language
  2. Physical development
  3. Personal, social and emotional development.
  4. Literacy
  5. Mathematics
  6. Understanding the world
  7. Expressive arts and design


Underpinning these areas are three ‘Characteristics of Effective Learning’:

  1. Playing and exploring
  2. Active Learning
  3. Creating and Thinking Critically



We aim to give our youngest children the very best start to their education by providing an appropriate curriculum which is tailored to their needs and prepares them for their future learning.